Reviewing Applicable Laws with DUI Lawyers in Lancaster County, PA

Posted By : Aubrey Mead , on Sep, 2017

 

In Pennsylvania, all drivers are restricted from driving an automobile or other motorized vehicles while intoxicated. Drivers under twenty-one who have a blood-alcohol content reading of 0.02% are guilty of a DUI. Drivers over 21 with a blood-alcohol content reading of 0.08% are also guilty of this offense. DUI lawyers in Lancaster County, PA provide a defense for this infraction.

What to Expect from the 1st Conviction

The state doesn’t require a minimum jail sentence. The fine for the offense is $300. Typically, the court won’t require a driver’s license suspension for the first conviction. However, if the driver was accused of an aggravated DUI, the judge can suspend their license for up to one year. An ignition interlocking device is required only if the driver refused to submit to chemical testing.

What to Expect from the 2nd Conviction

The state requires a minimum of five days in jail with a maximum of six months in jail for the second conviction. The fine ranges between $300 and $2,500, and the driver’s license is suspended for one year. An ignition interlocking device is required during the driver’s license suspension.

What to Expect from the 3rd Conviction

The state requires a minimum of ten days in jail with a maximum of two years in the county jail. The fines range between $500 and $5,000. The driver’s license suspension is one year. The ignition interlocking device requirement extends throughout the license suspension period.

What Is an Aggravated DUI?

An aggravated DUI is defined by a blood-alcohol content reading of 0.15%. The infraction falls under this classification if they had a child under the age of 13 in their vehicle at the time of their arrest as well. They could also face further charges if they caused an accident.

In Pennsylvania, drivers must refrain from driving while intoxicated. However, they can use defenses based on a need to drive such as escaping an attacker. A mistake of fact is also used if the driver experienced a diabetes-related condition mistaken for intoxication. Defendants who need help through a DUI lawyers in Lancaster County, PA can contact the Law Office of Melissa R. Montgomery right now.

Be the first to like.

Share!

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    17 − 2 =

    Pin It on Pinterest

    Shares
    Share This