It is a known fact that drinking and driving do not mix and there are harsh penalties for such violations. In Texas, penalties for drinking and driving are even harsher, and anyone who is charged should get an attorney. A DWI attorney in Royse City, TX helps clients who are facing the first offense or subsequent offense. The following is some information that clients should know about DWI in Texas.
What Is Considered “Driving While Intoxicated” in Texas?
When a lot of people think of driving while intoxicated, they assume it is a person who is sloppy drunk and one who is driving all over the road. However, to be more specific, it is the inability to function normally with mental and physical capacities due to the influence of alcohol or other drugs. It is also defined as having a blood alcohol content level of .08% or more. Commercial drivers are penalized at .04%, and drivers under the age of 21 are penalized for any amount detected.
On Getting Stopped for DWI
Drivers should realize that they can be charged with DWI even if their blood alcohol content level is not over the limit. All the law enforcement official has to do is suspect that the driver is under the influence for other reasons. If this is the case, the driver should really get an attorney to try to fight this charge, lest the harsh penalty comes down upon them.
Some of the Penalties for DWI
To get an idea of the penalties for DWI, a first offense is a Class B misdemeanor and can get the offender up to $2,000 in fines, 180 days in jail, and a license suspension of 365 days. If this is the first offense, it is easy to see the subsequent offenses are worse. Hiring an attorney is the best defense for such situations.
The Attorney Who Can Help
The Law Office of Tim Hartley has been providing legal solutions for clients in the Royse City, Texas area for many years. Any driver in need of a DWI attorney in Royse City, TX can contact them. Visit the website at website name and browse to where directed to “Click Here.”
Be the first to like.