Beyond obvious indicators such as glassy eyes, slurred speech, and breath that smells like alcohol, there are other signs that can cause law enforcement officers to stop someone for DWI. According to the state police, actions such as wide turns, swerving, speeding, and slow reactions to traffic signals can lead to a DWI stop. Below are several things to know before calling a DUI Law Attorney in Twin Falls ID.
Sobriety Testing and Implied Consent
Once an officer suspects a driver’s impairment, the person will be taken into custody and asked to take a chemical test. The testing of breath, urine, or blood is typically conducted at a hospital or police station, and it determines the suspect’s BAC or blood alcohol concentration. Under Idaho’s Implied Consent Law, drivers must consent to these tests. Officers may also do field sobriety tests, which involve simple activities like walking in a straight line or standing on one leg. However, attorneys say that these tests aren’t included in the implied consent law, and drivers should decline to take them.
Refusing Chemical Tests
Drivers who refuse to take chemical tests will lose their license for one year; for the second offense, the suspension lasts for two years. These penalties are in addition to other sanctions included in the criminal proceedings. According to lawyers, it’s not unusual for a prosecutor to convict a person of DWI without a blood alcohol reading, based on an officer’s testimony. A prosecutor may argue that the driver’s decision to refuse chemical testing is an admission of impairment.
The Cost of a DWI in Idaho
First-time offenders will spend thousands on fines, charges, and fees because of a DWI conviction. These include license reinstatement fees, fines of up to $1000, evaluation fees, and court costs. However, legal fees are the most expensive part of getting a DWI; they can be up to $15,000, depending on the nature of the case. The state also requires drivers to obtain an SR-22 form that guarantees a certain level of liability insurance for three years, and many drivers see their insurance rates triple after a conviction. Call today to get more information or to speak to a DUI Law Attorney in Twin Falls ID about a pending case.
Be the first to like.