Three Basic Types of Workers Compensation Benefits in Minnesota

Posted By : Aubrey Mead , on May, 2022


Workers’ Compensation in Minnesota is a no-fault system. It was designed to assist both employers and employees when a work-related incident occurs. Under this legislation, Workers’ Compensation benefits are provided to employees while liability to employers is limited. The result is a system in which, to establish liability, the employee does not need to prove an employer was negligent. Furthermore, the employer cannot rely on a defence of employee negligence.

Type of Worker’s Compensation Benefits

Workers’ Compensation in Minnesota is overseen and administered by a dedicated body. This is the Workers’ Compensation Division. They decide the benefits an injured worker may receive under this system. The benefits are categorized accordingly:

  1. Wage-loss benefits
  2. Medical benefits
  3. Vocational rehabilitation benefits

Various factors determine who, how much and for how long compensation benefits are available.

Workers’ Compensation Death Benefits

One more category of Workers’ Compensation benefits is available. However, this is only applicable if the work-related incident ends in a fatality. Under this category, certain members of the deceased employee’s family may be eligible to collect specific benefits. Among them are:

  • Funeral costs
  • Burial expenses
  • Weekly payments related directly to the deceased employee’s income

Hire a Workers’ Compensation Lawyer

To avoid receiving less than your deserved benefits or even being denied, be sure to contact a law firm in Minnesota specializing in this area. This will prevent any errors that will hold up compensation. Hiring a dedicated lawyer will help you receive all the Workers’ Compensation benefits to which you are entitled.

Be the first to like.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This