3 Facts about the Lemon Law

Posted By : Aubrey Mead , on Jan, 2019

 

Laws are set in place by the government to protect individuals from perceived dangers. For a while, the car sales industry experienced a rash of questionable sales that left customers with unreliable vehicles. If you believe that your automobile may fall within the parameters of Texas Lemon Law, remediation is available to you.

Here are three Lemon Law facts.

What is the Lemon Law?

The Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act was born in 1975. It is most often known as the Lemon Law. The law was set up to protect consumers from unscrupulous car salesmen and dealer staff who were trying to unload otherwise un-saleable vehicles to unsuspecting customers. Every state interprets the law a little differently, so if you believe that you are a victim, look over the statutes, first. At a dealer, if you are unsure of the law and are feeling unsure about the reliability of the vehicle you are being shown, it may be best to walk away.

Details of the Lemon Law

Under the Lemon Law, only new vehicles are covered. Cars that are sold with a warranty are covered as well. In general, the more miles the car your purchase already has on it, the longer you have to figure out if it is truly a lemon. For example, if your vehicle had a warranty as well as between 18,001 to 36,000 miles, you have up to 90 days or 4,000 miles driven to report it as a lemon.

Legal Help

If you determine that the vehicle you were sold is indeed a lemon, knowledgeable law professionals who specialize in this focus area are able to help navigate the legal process with you. The Lemon Law states the auto manufacturer is liable for your attorney fees.

For guidance through Texas Lemon Law, contact Lemon Law America.

1 person likes this post.
Share!

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    two + 2 =

    Pin It on Pinterest

    Shares
    Share This